Finfox Voices: Roman Holland

Finfox 26. July 2022
Roman_Insights2

Roman Holland is UX/UI design expert at Finfox. Over the next few months, he will be highlighting various aspects of digital user experience design in our Insights section. To kick things off, we asked Roman a few questions.

What is your professional background?

I studied communication design, as typography, design and illustration have always been the fields where my passion and strengths lie. With the emergence of the first iPhone, my interest shifted to the fascinating field of human-computer interaction with its facets of user experience (UX) and user interface (UI). Before joining Finfox, I worked as a UX designer for an international educational organization, a large advertising agency, and an IT company in the marketing/event management industry, among others, which has given me a wide range of experience.

 

What role do UX and UI play at Finfox?

Without a coherent concept for a positive user experience in the UX phase, even the most beautiful user interface won’t convince – that’s why at Finfox we make it a point to give equal attention to both aspects when developing our products.

Our design system follows general web standards (e.g. accessibility) and interaction patterns (navigation, user experience, etc.). The UI of our applications is based on the corporate design of the Finfox brand, which we brushed up and relaunched in spring 2022 (see here). In the UI, we deliberately merge two worlds: an excellent user experience with the visual identity and the distinctive brand core of Finfox.

I would also like to underline the flexibility of our design system, which takes into account customer feedback and improvement requests and is continuously optimized.

 

What makes working at Finfox exciting for you?

The most exciting thing is the corporate culture with the flattest hierarchy I have experienced so far. Everyone pitches in and feels 100% responsible for the success of the product and ultimately the team.

I also find it exciting to work with so many smart colleagues from whom I can learn every day. In the team, we have personalities with the most different roles and backgrounds. It’s extremely motivating for me to be able to work in such a diverse environment.

 

What departments do you work with?

My role as a UX/Interaction Designer is heavily involved in the Business Analyst/Product Owner team and the front-end development team. Depending on the project, the level of collaboration varies but these are the colleagues I work particularly closely with.

 

Is Finfox only available with frontend?

No. Our modules and components are designed to integrate seamlessly with customers’ own systems via FinfoxPublicAPI*. But to explain the technical details, I am the wrong person to ask.

[*More about FinfoxPublicAPI coming soon – watch this space.]

 

Last but not least: Your Finfox fun fact?

In the summer, it’s time for a special kind of dessert almost every day around 2pm. Here’s where I need to elaborate a bit:

We have an uber-expert in coffee on the team. Degree of grinding, amount of coffee, water hardness – he doesn’t leave all the little details that assure perfect coffee enjoyment to chance. Much to my luck, the respective colleague also likes ice cream. In short, he prepares the espressos and I contribute one or two scoops of ice cream, depending on my mood. This is how the now legendary Finfox Affogato al caffè came into being 😊

New solutions and relevant insights straight to your inbox?

Subscribe to our Finfox newsletter now.

How can we help?
Contact

Finfox Voices: Roman Holland

Finfox 26. Juli 2022
Roman_Insights2

Roman Holland ist Experte für UX/UI-Design bei Finfox. Er beleuchtet in den nächsten Monaten an dieser Stelle verschiedene Aspekte der Gestaltung von digitalen Nutzererfahrungen. Zum Auftakt haben wir Roman ein paar Fragen gestellt.

Was ist dein beruflicher Hintergrund?

Studiert habe ich Kommunikationsdesign, da Typografie, Gestaltung und Illustration schon immer die Felder gewesen sind, in denen meine Leidenschaft und Stärken liegen. Mit dem Aufkommen des ersten iPhones verlagerte sich mein Interesse auf das faszinierende Tätigkeitsfeld der Mensch-Computer-Interaktion mit den Facetten User Experience (UX) und User Interface (UI). Bevor ich zu Finfox kam, war ich als UX Designer unter anderem für eine internationale Bildungsorganisation, eine grosse Werbeagentur und eine IT-Firma in der Marketing-/Event-Management-Branche tätig und konnte so vielfältige Erfahrungen sammeln.

 

Welche Rolle spielen UX und UI bei Finfox?

Ohne ein stimmiges Konzept für ein positives Nutzererlebnis in der UX-Phase wird auch die schönste Benutzeroberfläche nicht überzeugen – deshalb legen wir bei Finfox Wert darauf, dass bei der Entwicklung unserer Produkte beiden Aspekten gleich viel Aufmerksamkeit zuteil wird.

Unser Design System orientiert sich an den allgemeinen Webstandards (z.B. Accessibility) und Interaktions-Patterns (Navigation, Nutzerführung etc.). Das UI unserer Applikationen basiert auf dem Corporate Design der Marke Finfox, die wir im Frühling 2022 aufgefrischt und neu lanciert haben (siehe hier). Im UI verschmelzen wir ganz bewusst zwei Welten miteinander: eine hervorragende User Experience mit der visuellen Identität und dem unverwechselbaren Markenkern von Finfox.

Nicht unerwähnt lassen möchte ich die Flexibilität unseres Design Systems, welches Kundenfeedback und Verbesserungswünsche berücksichtigt und fortlaufend optimiert wird.

 

Was macht deine Arbeit bei Finfox spannend?

Das Spannendste ist die Unternehmenskultur mit der flachsten Hierarchie, die ich bis jetzt erlebt habe. Jede und jeder packt an und fühlt sich zu 100% verantwortlich für den Erfolg des Produkts und letztendlich des Teams.

Spannend finde ich auch, mit so vielen smarten Kolleginnen und Kollegen zusammenzuarbeiten, von denen ich täglich lernen kann. Im Team haben wir Persönlichkeiten mit den unterschiedlichsten Rollen und Backgrounds. Es motiviert mich extrem, mich in so einem diversen Biotop bewegen zu dürfen.

 

Mit welchen Abteilungen arbeitest du zusammen?

Meine Rolle als UX/Interaction Designer ist stark eingebunden im Team der Business Analysten/Product Owner und im Frontend-Entwicklungsteam. Projektabhängig schwankt der Grad der Zusammenarbeit, aber mit diesen Kolleginnen und Kollegen arbeite ich besonders eng zusammen.

 

Gibt es Finfox nur mit Frontend?

Nein. Unsere Module und Komponenten sind so designt, dass sie durch die FinfoxPublicAPI* nahtlos in die kundeneigenen Systeme integriert werden können. Aber um die technischen Details zu erläutern, bin ich der falsche Ansprechpartner.

[*Mehr über FinfoxPublicAPI folgt demnächst hier an dieser Stelle.]

 

Zum Schluss: Dein Finfox Fun Fact?

Im Sommer wird es beinahe täglich so gegen 14 Uhr Zeit für ein Dessert der besonderen Art. Hier muss ich etwas ausholen:

Wir haben im Team einen Überexperten beim Thema Kaffee. Mahlgrad, Kaffeemenge, Wasserhärte – all die kleinen Details, die zum vollkommenen Kaffeegenuss beitragen, überlässt er nicht dem Zufall . Mein Glück ist, dass der besagte Kollege auch gerne Glace mag. Kurzum: Er bereitet die Espressi vor und ich steuere, je nach Stimmung, eine oder zwei Kugeln Glace bei. So ist der mittlerweile legendäre Finfox Affogato al caffè entstanden 😊

Produktneuheiten und relevante Insights direkt in Ihre Inbox?

Jetzt unseren Finfox-Newsletter abonnieren.

Wie können wir helfen?
Zur Kontaktseite